Hypocritical Mass



“You Be You– I’ll Be Me – R-E-S-P-E-C-T?”  

Tuatha Dea’s 3rd Album, “THE TRIBE” – produced in 2013 was the last engineered by former member and TD alumni Trevis Harricharan. It was unique in several ways. It was created to symbolize unity and celebrate collaboration and was the first time TD featured guest artists and musicians on a project. It is their most tribal/percussion based musical effort, written purposely with a world flavor and it marked a definitive end of a more primal era, simultaneously ushering in the first hints of things to come and the band’s melodic Appalachian/Americana side. Unintentional at the time. Noticeable in retrospect. It is notably the last album produced without a conventional drum kit and the first featuring Rebecca’s younger sister Katherine as a vocalist. 

This next tune was and is a bluesy driving duet sang by both sisters. It’s tongue in cheek but sincere message directly addresses ideological hypocrisies as they pertain to spiritual perspectives and somewhat indirectly criticizes those personal ego that demand respect, acceptance and fairness from others but refuse to return the favor. Fast paced plays on words and turns of phrase helped seal its popularity. 

Over time this became the band’s high octane Americana Anthem played at nearly every performance. With the addition of drums, electric guitar, fiddle and spoons and several classic rock tribute snippets reminiscent of ACDC, Kansas, Peter Frampton and Deep Purple, Tuatha Dea first recorded the NEW arrangement in video format during their appearance at Floydfest in VA in 2019 and cemented its addition to the Irish Eyes project. From The Tribe Album, Its time to level up with …. ” Hypocritical Mass”

Hypocritical Mass
Written by Danny Mullkin
Sound Biscuit Publishing
“Smoke on the Water” written by Richie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glove, Ian Paice and Jon
Lord. EMI Glenwood Music Corp., B Feldman & CO Ltd T/as Hec Music
“Thunderstruck” written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young. BMG Rights Management, Sony/
ATV Publishing LLC.
“Do You Feel Like We Do” written by Peter Frampton, Rick Wills, Mick Gallagher and John
Siomos. Almo Music Corp., Nuages Artists Music Ltd.
“Carry on My Wayward Son” written by Kerry A. Livgren. Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC.
Vocals: Rebecca Holman Mullikin
Vocals: Katherine Holman
Acoustic Guitar: Danny Mullikin
Electric Guitar: Adam Ogle
Bass: Jeremiah Waldo
Drums: Brett Maney
Fiddle: Laura Smith